Call for Papers







Previous Workshops

Call for Papers

SADFE 2013

8th International Workshop on
Systematic Approaches to Digital Forensics Engineering

In collaboration with University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Information Security and Forensics Society; Hong Kong Center for Information Security and Cryptography, HKU Law and Technology Centre and IEEE Louisville Section.

November 21-22, 2013
University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Peoples Republic of China

Venue: Academic Conference Room, 11/F, Cheng Yu Tung Tower (map),
Centennial Campus, The University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong

right before the HTCIA (High Technology Crime Investigation Association)

7th Annual HTCIA Asia Pacific Training Conference

2nd-4th December 2013


Important Date:

Paper Due Date: Extended to July 16, 2013 (anywhere in the world)
Acceptance Notification Date: August 15, 2013
Final Paper: October 1, 2013
Accommodation Special Rates Due: October 25, 2013 (HK Time)
Author Registration Due: October 25, 2013
Early Bird Registration Due: October 25, 2013
Conference Date: November 21-22, 2013

We invite you to SADFE-2013, the eighth international conference on Systematic Approaches to Digital Forensic Engineering to be held in Hong Kong, China November 21-22, 2013.

Digital forensics engineering and the curation of digital collections in cultural institutions face pressing and overlapping challenges related to provenance, chain of custody, authenticity, integrity, and identity. The analysis and sustainability of digital evidence requires innovative methods, systems and practices, grounded in solid research and understanding of user needs.

SADFE-2013 investigates the application of digital forensic engineering expertise to advance a variety of goals, including criminal and corporate investigations, as well as documentation of individual and organizational activities. We believe digital forensic engineering is vital to security, the administration of justice and the evolution of culture.


Submissions: Submissions are made via Reg-Site

A Best Paper Award will be made for the final papers.



We welcome previously unpublished papers on digital forensics and preservation as to civil, criminal and national security investigations for use within a court of law, the execution of national policy or to aid in understanding the past and digital knowledge in general.

We discuss digital forensic principles in new areas of the information society. We hope you consider submission for this international conference.

Potential topics to be addressed by submissions include, but are not limited to:


SADFE-2013 follows standard IEEE submission standards with full papers to be submitted by the final due date.

Prospective authors are invited to submit original work not previously published or planned for presentation. Papers are reviewed on the basis that they do not contain plagiarized material and have not been submitted to any other conference at the same time (double submission). Follow these links to learn more:

PLEASE NOTE: To be published in the Conference Proceedings an author of an accepted paper is required to register for the conference. Non-refundable registration fees must be paid prior to uploading the final IEEE formatted, publication-ready version of the paper. For authors with multiple accepted papers, one registration is valid for up to 3 papers. Accepted and presented papers will be published in the 2013 Conference Proceedings.

Paper submissions:

During the initial paper submission process via REG-SITE, it is the authors' responsibility to ensure that the author list and the paper title of the submitted pdf file is an exact match to the author list and paper title on the REG-SITE registration page. Registration must include all co-authors, not just the submitting author. Failure to comply with this rule might result in your paper being withdrawn from the review process.

All submissions should be written in English with a maximum paper length of six (6) printed pages (minimum 10-point font) including figures, without incurring additional page charges.

Standard IEEE conference templates for for Microsoft Word US letter is here: US letter.

Only PDF files will be accepted for the review process, and all submissions must be done through REG-SITE.

Steering Committee:

Deborah Frincke, Co-Chair (Department of Defense)
Ming-Yuh Huang, Co-Chair (Northwest Security Institute)
Michael Losavio (University of Louisville)
Alec Yasinsac (University of South Alabama)
Robert F. Erbacher (Army Research Laboratory)
Wenke Lee (George Institute of Technology)
Barbara Endicott-Popovsky (University of Washington)
Roy Campbell (University of Illinois, Urbana/Champaign)
Yong Guan (Iowa State University)


Organizing Committee:

General Chair: K.P. Chow, University of Hong Kong
Program Committee Co-Chairs: Christopher (Cal) Lee, University of North Carolina
Adel Elmaghraby, University of Louisville
Submission Chair: Luciana Duranti, University of British Columbia

Program Committee:

Sudhir Aggarwal Florida State University
Galina Borisevich Perm State University
Long Chen Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunications
K.P. Chow University of Hong Kong
David Dampier Mississippi State University
Hervé Debar France Telecom R&D
Barbara Endicott-Popovsky University of Washington
Robert Erbacher Northwest Security Institute
Xinwen Fu UMass Lowell
Simson Garfinkel Naval Postgraduate School
Brad Glisson University of Glasgow
Yong Guan Iowa State University
Barbara Guttman National Institute for Standards and Technology (USA)
Brian Hay University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Jeremy John British Library
Ping Ji John Jay College Of Criminal Justice
Yu-Li Li Ministry of Justice Investigation Bureau, Taiwan
Pinxin Liu Renmin University of China Law School
Michael Losavio University of Louisville
Nasir Memon Polytechnic Institute of NYU
Mariofanna Milanova University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Kara Nance University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Ming Ouyang University of Louisville
Gilbert Peterson Air Force Institute of Technology
Slim Rekhis University of Carthage
Golden Richard University of New Orleans
Corinne Rogers University of British Columbia
Ahmed Salem Hood College
Clay Shields Georgetown University
Vrizlynn Thing Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Sean Thorp Faculty of Engineering and Computing at University of Technology , Jamaica
William(Bill) Underwood Georgia Tech
Wietse Venema IBM Research
Xinyuan(Frank) Wang George Mason University
Kam Woods University of North Carolina
Yang Xiang Deakin University, Australia
Fei Xu Institute of Information Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Alec Yasinsac University of South Alabama
SM Yiu University of Hong Kong
Wei Yu Towson University
Nan Zhang George Washington University

Contact Information:

Michael Losavio, University of Louisville,
+1 502 852 3509