Call for Papers

VIA EasyChair
you will need to enroll your contact information in EasyChair if you have not used it before

Post Submission
via EasyChair



via IEEE Symposium on Privacy and Security




Previous Workshops


Sixth International Workshop on
Systematic Approaches to Digital Forensic Engineering
In conjunction with
IEEE Security and Privacy Symposium,
Oakland, CA, USA, May 26, 2011

The SADFE Steering Committee and community express their regret on the loss of one of SADFE's founders, Prof. Chi-Sung Laih of National Cheng Kung University, after his courageous fight with cancer. Chi-Sung always cared more about doing the right things, doing them right, rather than getting anything back. That spirit will continue with SADFE.

The IEEE/SADFE (Systematic Approaches to Digital Forensic Engineering) International Workshop promotes systematic approaches to computer investigations, by furthering the advancement of digital forensic engineering as a disciplined practice.

Most previous IEEE/SADFE papers have emphasized cyber crime investigations, and this is still a key focus of the meeting. However, we also welcome papers on forensics that do not necessarily involve a crime: general attack analysis, insider threat, insurance and compliance investigations, and similar forms of retrospective analysis are all viable topics. Digital forensic engineering is characterized by the application of scientific and mathematical principles to the investigation and establishment of facts or evidence, either for use within a court of law or to aid in understanding past events on a computer system.

Past speakers and attendees of SADFE have included computer scientists, social scientists, forensic practitioners, law enforcement, lawyers, and judges. The synthesis of hard technology and science with social science and practice forms the foundation of this
conference. Papers focusing on any of the scientific, legal, or practical aspects of digital forensics are solicited.

General Co-Chairs:
     Robert Erbacher (Utah State University)

Program Committee Co-Chairs:
     Roy Campbell (UIUC)
     Yong Guan (Iowa State University)